• Memorial Grove in Ryvangen
The grounds of the former barracks in the Ryvangen district of Copenhagen were used by the German security police as an execution site for Danish resitance fighters. After the war, the state of Denmark set up a national memorial at the site which was dedicated in 1950.
Image: Copenhagen, 2003, Pergola and plaques with the names of missing victims in the Memorial Grove in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Copenhagen, 2003, Pergola and plaques with the names of missing victims in the Memorial Grove in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Between April 9, 1940 and May 5, 1945, Denmark was occupied by Germany. The government felt compelled to cooperate with the occupying forces.
At the same time, a resistance movement developed and gained in strength beginning early 1943. The propagation of illegal writings as well as strikes and acts of sabotage led to tensions between the Danes and the Germans. New demands of the occupying authorities prompted the Danish government to finally resign on August 29, 1943.
That same day, the German Wehrmacht disarmed Danish soldiers stationed in the barracks in the Ryvangen district of Copenhagen and occupied the drill grounds. After that, the German security police used a part of the firing range to execute resistance fighters. The victims were tied to wood beams and shot.
In all, around 900 Danish resistance fighters were executed, lost their lives in acts of sabotage and raids or targeted murder campaigns or perished in German camps during the Second World War.
Image: Copenhagen, 2003, Pergola and plaques with the names of missing victims in the Memorial Grove in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Copenhagen, 2003, Pergola and plaques with the names of missing victims in the Memorial Grove in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
The German security police executed 95 people at the firing range in Ryvangen. In all, the remains of around 200 people were discovered in Ryvangen after the war. Many of those buried here were murdered in other parts of the city or died under unknown circumstances.
Image: Copenhagen, 2001, German President Rau at a memorial ceremony dedicated to Danish victims of National Socialism, Bundespresseamt
Copenhagen, 2001, German President Rau at a memorial ceremony dedicated to Danish victims of National Socialism, Bundespresseamt
Already in 1946, the Danish state began remodelling the former military drill grounds in Ryvangen into a national memorial to the Danish victims of German occupation. The »Memorial Grove in Ryvangen« (Danish: »Mindelunden i Ryvangen«) was dedicated on May 5, 1950, on the fifth anniversary of Denmark's liberation.
A sculpture by Axel Poulsen stands at the centre of the memorial park. Along both sides of the monument there are 105 graves of those executed in Ryvangen or of freedom fighters who died in action. Another field of graves close to the front of the monument names further 91 victims of executions in Ryvangen and freedom fighters whose bodies were recovered.
There are another 31 graves for prisoners who died in German concentration camps, and who were laid to rest in the area of the »Rotunda«. A memorial plaque in the »Pergola« adds the names of another 151 murdered freedom fighters whose bodies were never found.
A memorial plaque and bronze castings of the wood beams to which the victims were tied mark the former site of mass shootings. Today, the original beams are located in the Museum of Danish Resistance.
The »Memorial Grove in Ryvangen« is the central Danish memorial to the victims of German occupation. The central commemorative ceremony on May 5 takes place annually at this site.
Image: Copenhagen, 2003, Sculpture by Axel Poulsen in the Memorial Grove in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Copenhagen, 2003, Sculpture by Axel Poulsen in the Memorial Grove in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert

Name
Mindelunden i Ryvangen
Address
Tuborgvej 33
DK-2900 København
Phone
+45 396 214 67
Web
http://www.mindelundenryvangen.dk/
Open
September to April daily 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., May to August 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Possibilities
Tours by prior appointment, memorial ceremony with government representatives and members of the royal house of Denmark takes place annually on May 5

• Gedenkhain in Ryvangen
Das Gelände der ehemaligen Kaserne im Kopenhagener Stadtteil Ryvangen diente der deutschen Sicherheitspolizei als Hinrichtungsstätte für dänische Widerstandskämpfer. Nach dem Krieg errichtete der dänische Staat eine nationale Gedenkstätte an diesem Ort, die 1950 eingeweiht wurde.
Bild:Kopenhagen, 2003, Pergola  und Tafeln mit den Namen der vermissten Opfer im Gedenkhain in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Kopenhagen, 2003, Pergola und Tafeln mit den Namen der vermissten Opfer im Gedenkhain in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Dänemark war vom 9. April 1940 bis 5. Mai 1945 unter deutscher Besatzung. Die Regierung sah sich gezwungen, mit der deutschen Besatzungsmacht zu kooperieren.
Gleichzeitig entwickelte sich eine Widerstandsbewegung, die ab Frühjahr 1943 zunehmend erstarkte. Die Verbreitung illegaler Schriften sowie Streiks und Sabotageakte führten zu Spannungen zwischen Dänen und Deutschen. Neue Forderungen der Besatzungsbehörden veranlassten die dänische Regierung am 29. August 1943 schließlich zum Rücktritt.
Am selben Tag entwaffnete die deutsche Wehrmacht die in der Kaserne im Kopenhagener Stadtteil Ryvangen stationierten dänischen Soldaten und besetzte den Übungsplatz. Danach nutzte die deutsche Sicherheitspolizei einen Teil des Schießplatzes für Hinrichtungen von Widerstandskämpfern. Die Opfer wurden an Holzpfähle gefesselt und erschossen.
Insgesamt wurden während des Zweiten Weltkrieges um die 900 dänische Widerstandskämpfer hingerichtet, verloren bei Sabotageaktionen, Razzien und durch gezielte Mordaktionen ihr Leben oder starben in deutschen Lagern.
Bild:Kopenhagen, 2003, Pergola  und Tafeln mit den Namen der vermissten Opfer im Gedenkhain in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Kopenhagen, 2003, Pergola und Tafeln mit den Namen der vermissten Opfer im Gedenkhain in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Die deutsche Sicherheitspolizei richtete auf den Schießplätzen in Ryvangen 95 Menschen hin. Insgesamt wurden nach dem Ende des Krieges die Überreste von etwa 200 Menschen in Ryvangen gefunden. Viele der hier verscharrten Menschen wurden an anderen Orten der Stadt ermordet oder kamen aus unbekannten Gründen ums Leben.
Bild:Kopenhagen, 2001, Bundespräsident Rau beim Gedenken an die dänischen Opfer des Nationalsozialismus, Bundespresseamt
Kopenhagen, 2001, Bundespräsident Rau beim Gedenken an die dänischen Opfer des Nationalsozialismus, Bundespresseamt
Bereits 1946 begann der dänische Staat, den ehemaligen militärischen Übungsplatz in Ryvangen in eine nationale Gedenkstätte zu Ehren der dänischen Opfer der deutschen Besatzung umzuwandeln. Der »Gedenkhain in Ryvangen« (dänisch: »Mindelunden i Ryvangen«) wurde schließlich am 5. Mai 1950, am fünften Jahrestag der Befreiung Dänemarks, eingeweiht.
Eine Skulptur von Axel Poulsen steht im Mittelpunkt des Gedenkparks. 105 Gräber befinden sich beiderseits des Monumentes für in Ryvangen hingerichtete oder im Kampf gefallene Freiheitskämpfer. 91 Gedenksteine erinnern an weitere in Ryvangen hingerichtete oder dort tot aufgefundene aber an anderen Orten bestattete Freiheitskämpfer.
Darüber hinaus gibt es 31 Gräber von in deutschen Konzentrationslagern ermordeter Widerstandskämpfer, deren Überreste nach dem Kriege nach Dänemark überführt und im Bereich der »Rotunde« bestattet wurden. Gedenktafeln erinnern in der »Pergola« an 151 ermordete Freiheitskämpfer, deren Leichen nie gefunden wurden.
Eine Gedenktafel und bronzene Abgüsse der Holzpfähle, an die die Opfer gefesselt wurden, markieren die ehemalige Erschießungsstätte. Die Originalpfähle befinden sich heute im Museum des dänischen Widerstandes.
Der »Gedenkhain in Ryvangen« ist in Dänemark der zentrale Gedenkort für die Opfer der deutschen Besatzung. Auch die zentralen Gedenkfeierlichkeiten am 5. Mai, dem Tag der Befreiung, finden hier jährlich statt.
Bild:Kopenhagen, 2003, Skulptur von Axel Poulsen im Gedenkhain in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert
Kopenhagen, 2003, Skulptur von Axel Poulsen im Gedenkhain in Ryvangen, Stiftung Denkmal, Christl Wickert

Name
Mindelunden i Ryvangen
Adresse
Tuborgvej 33
DK-2900 København
Telefon
+45 396 214 67
Web
http://www.mindelundenryvangen.dk/
Öffnungszeiten
September bis April täglich 10.00 bis 16.00, Mai bis August 10.00 bis 19.00
Angebot
Führungen nach telefonischer Voranmeldung, jährlich am 5. Mai Gedenkveranstaltung mit Regierungsvertretern und Vertretern des dänischen Königshauses