• Garage Massacre Memorial
A memorial in the Lithuanian city of Kaunas (Russian: Kovno) calls into remembrance the massacre of June 1941, during which Lithuanian nationalists murdered dozens of Jews in the courtyard of the Lietūkis Garage.
Image: Kaunas, 1941, Lithuanian perpetrators during the massacre, Yad Vashem
Kaunas, 1941, Lithuanian perpetrators during the massacre, Yad Vashem

Image: Kaunas, 2011, Memorial stone to the victims of the massacre at the Lietūkis garage, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Memorial stone to the victims of the massacre at the Lietūkis garage, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, the second-largest city in Lithuania, is located at the junction of the Neman and the Neris rivers. Between 1920 and 1940, Kaunas was the temporary capital of independent Lithuania. About a quarter of the 160,000 inhabitants of Kaunas were Jewish. In 1940, Lithuania was occupied and eventually annexed by the Soviet Union.
In June 1941, a few days after its invasion of the Soviet Union, the German Wehrmacht occupied Kaunas. Many Lithuanians welcomed the Germans' arrival and especially the withdrawal of the Red Army. Lithuanian nationals accused the Jewish population of having collaborated with the Soviets, and committed pogroms in revenge for the Soviet occupation - these were frequently supported or initiated by the German occupation authorities. Such a pogrom took place - most likely on June 27, 1941 - at the Lietūkis Garage, the courtyard of an agricultural cooperative with an associated petrol station. Lithuanian nationalists beat several dozens of Jewish men to death with iron rods, cheered on by onlookers, among them women and children. There were also German soldiers among the bystanders. The Jewish men had to step forward one by one, and they were beaten to death by a small group of men. Other participants hosed the blood from the courtyard. Similar pogroms took place in all of Lithuania during the first days of German occupation, during which about 800 Jews were murdered by Lithuanian nationalists.
Image: Kaunas, 1941, Lithuanian perpetrators during the massacre, Yad Vashem
Kaunas, 1941, Lithuanian perpetrators during the massacre, Yad Vashem

Image: Kaunas, 2011, Memorial stone to the victims of the massacre at the Lietūkis garage, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Memorial stone to the victims of the massacre at the Lietūkis garage, Stiftung Denkmal
It is estimated that up to 60 Jewish men were beaten to death in the garage of the Lietūkis cooperative in June 1941.
Image: Kaunas, 1941, Scene of the massacre at the Lietūkis garage, Yad Vashem
Kaunas, 1941, Scene of the massacre at the Lietūkis garage, Yad Vashem

The pogrom at the Lietūkis Garage is broadly known due to a series of disturbing photos which were taken during the massacre. The role of German officers during the pogrom is still disputed among historians: while some believe they were merely passive observers, others consider them active perpetrators. Moreover, it is not clear whether the Lithuanian attackers were an organised unit, which had participated in similar crimes in other towns.
After the war, the premises of the Lietūkis cooperative were built on; the garage was torn down and the courtyard is now part of a school. In 2002, a memorial stone to the victims of the massacre was erected by the municipal authorities. However, the memorial cannot be seen from the street, and the memorial site remains practically unknown in Kaunas.
Image: Kaunas, 2011, Inscription on the memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Inscription on the memorial, Stiftung Denkmal

Image: Kaunas, 2011, Location of the memorial in a schoolyard, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Location of the memorial in a schoolyard, Stiftung Denkmal
Address
Miško gatvė 3, on the courtyard
44321 Kaunas

• Denkmal am Ort des »Garagenmassakers«
In der litauischen Stadt Kaunas (deutsch auch: Kauen, russisch: Kowno) erinnert ein Denkmal an das Massaker, bei dem im Juni 1941 litauische Nationalisten auf dem Innenhof der »Lietūkis-Garagen« dutzende jüdische Männer erschlugen.
Bild:Kaunas, 1941, Litauischer Täter beim Massaker, Yad Vashem
Kaunas, 1941, Litauischer Täter beim Massaker, Yad Vashem

Bild:Kaunas, 2011, Gedenkstein für die Opfer des Massakers bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen«, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Gedenkstein für die Opfer des Massakers bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen«, Stiftung Denkmal
Die Stadt Kaunas am Zusammenfluss von Memel (litauisch: Nemunas, russisch: Neman) und Neris (polnisch: Wilia) ist die zweitgrößte Stadt Litauens. Von 1920 bis 1940 war Kaunas die provisorische Hauptstadt des unabhängigen Staates Litauen. Ungefähr ein Viertel der etwa 160.000 Einwohner von Kaunas waren Juden. 1940 wurde Litauen durch die Sowjetunion besetzt und anschließend annektiert.
Im Juni 1941, bereits wenige Tage nach dem Angriff auf die Sowjetunion, besetzte die deutsche Wehrmacht die Stadt. Viele Litauer begrüßten den Einmarsch der Deutschen und den damit verbundenen Rückzug der Roten Armee. Litauische Nationalisten bezichtigten die jüdische Bevölkerung der Kollaboration und verübten Pogrome aus Rache für die sowjetische Besatzungszeit – vielfach entfacht und gutgeheißen von deutschen Besatzungsbehörden. Ein solches Pogrom fand – höchstwahrscheinlich – am 27. Juni 1941 bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen« statt, dem Innenhof einer landwirtschaftlichen Genossenschaft mit angeschlossener Tankstelle. Dort erschlugen litauische Nationalisten unter dem Beifall umstehender Zuschauer, darunter auch Frauen und Kinder, mehrere Dutzend jüdische Männer mit Eisenstangen. Auch einige deutsche Soldaten der Wehrmacht sahen der Mordaktion zu. Die jüdischen Männer mussten einzeln vortreten und wurden anschließend von wenigen Männern zu Tode geprügelt. Andere Beteiligte spülten mit Wasserschläuchen regelmäßig den Hof vom Blut der Opfer frei.
In den ersten Tagen der deutschen Besatzung fanden ähnliche Pogrome im ganzen Land statt, bei denen etwa 800 Juden der Gewalt litauischer Nationalisten zum Opfer fielen.
Bild:Kaunas, 1941, Litauischer Täter beim Massaker, Yad Vashem
Kaunas, 1941, Litauischer Täter beim Massaker, Yad Vashem

Bild:Kaunas, 2011, Gedenkstein für die Opfer des Massakers bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen«, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Gedenkstein für die Opfer des Massakers bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen«, Stiftung Denkmal
Schätzungen gehen davon aus, dass bis zu 60 jüdische Männer im Juni 1941 im Garagenhof der Lietūkis-Genossenschaft erschlagen wurden.
Bild:Kaunas, 1941, Szene vom Massaker bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen«, Yad Vashem
Kaunas, 1941, Szene vom Massaker bei den »Lietūkis-Garagen«, Yad Vashem

Das Pogrom in den »Lietūkis-Garagen« ist vor allem wegen der Serie verstörender Fotos bekannt geworden, die während der Bluttat entstanden sind. Unter Historikern ist bis heute umstritten, welche Rolle deutsche Offiziere bei den Pogromen in diesen Tagen spielten: Ob sie diese aktiv vorantrieben oder eher passive Zuschauer waren. Außerdem ist es bei diesem Massaker unklar, ob es sich bei den litauischen Tätern um eine organisierte Einheit handelte, die an ähnlichen Gewalttaten an anderen Orten beteiligt war.
Das Gelände der Lietūkis-Genossenschaft wurde indes nach dem Krieg mit weiteren Gebäuden überbaut. Die Garagen wurden abgerissen, heute gehört der Innenhof zu einer Schule. 2002 wurde dort von der Stadtverwaltung ein Gedenkstein errichtet, der an die Opfer des Massakers erinnert. Da der Stein jedoch von der Straße aus nicht zu sehen ist, bleibt der Gedenkort in Kaunas so gut wie unbekannt.
Bild:Kaunas, 2011, Inschrift auf dem Gedenkstein, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Inschrift auf dem Gedenkstein, Stiftung Denkmal

Bild:Kaunas, 2011, Standort des Gedenkstein im Innenhof einer Schule, Stiftung Denkmal
Kaunas, 2011, Standort des Gedenkstein im Innenhof einer Schule, Stiftung Denkmal
Adresse
Miško gatvė 3, im Hof
44321 Kaunas