• Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr
Since its opening in 2011 the Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr in Dresden deals with the topics of war and violence. The Museum had already served as a military museum for the National People's Army of the GDR, the Wehrmacht and the Royal Saxon Army.
Image: Dresden, 1972, The Army Museum of the GDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler
Dresden, 1972, The Army Museum of the GDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler

Image: Dresden, 2011, The Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Dresden, 2011, The Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
In the 1870s one of Europe's biggest barracks complex developed in Dresden, the capital of the Kingdom of Saxony. In the Northern part of town King Albrecht established a complex of barracks, military hospitals and storage buildings, known as the Albertstadt. In the arsenal hundreds of artillery pieces and thousands of firearms were stored. Captured weapons were collected as well. In 1897 the weapons collection was opened to the public: The exhibition of its own weapons technology as well as weapons captured during various wars was an important part in the formation of a national identity in the German Empire, a society militaristic in its character. At the beginning of World War I the renamed Saxon Army Museum remained partially closed. Only in 1924 the entire Saxon Army Museum was opened again to visitors. During National Socialism the museum was administered by the Wehrmacht. At the start of World War II the Wehrmacht stored mainly captured weapons in the Dresden Army Museum. The museum survived the heavy allied bombings in February 1945 largely unscathed.
Image: Dresden, 1972, The Army Museum of the GDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler
Dresden, 1972, The Army Museum of the GDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler

Image: Dresden, 2011, The Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Dresden, 2011, The Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
The Army Museum in Dresden is a place where various German armies celebrated themselves and glorified war and violence. No people were harmed in this place.
Image: Dresden, 2011, Wedge-shaped new building by Libeskind, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Dresden, 2011, Wedge-shaped new building by Libeskind, Bundeswehr, Bienert

Image: Dresden, 2011, Interior view of new building, Bundeswehr
Dresden, 2011, Interior view of new building, Bundeswehr
By the end of the war in 1945 it was uncertain whether the Dresden Army Museum would ever open again. Many of the exhibits had been evacuated or seized as spoils. Moreover, the Allies had banned any exhibitions or museums of »military nature«. Since large parts of the Dresden city centre lay in ruins because of the bombings, the city administration decided to utilize the unused and undamaged arsenal building as a municipal hall. Events, exhibitions and political gatherings took place there. After the foundation of the GDR and after the National People's Army (NVA) was established a military history collection of the GDR was opened in Postdam in 1961. By middle of the 1960s the NVA's command decided to move it to the arsenal building in Dresden and to keep up the military museum's traditions under different auspices. After a long conversion the Army Museum reopened again in 1972, revolving entirely around the NVA's role as guardian of socialism.
After the reunification of Germany in 1990 the Bundeswehr took over the museum and made it the new site of the central Museum of the Bundeswehr. In 2001 the architect Daniel Libeskind won the competition for an extensive redesign of the building. Libeskind extended the old building with a new one cutting through the old building in form of a wedge. This deconstruction of the old Arsenal is to elucidate the eventful and varied history of the German military. The wedge-formed building underlines the topics of war and violence associated with the military. At the same time the wedge points in the direction of the rebuilt historical centre of Dresden. After a seven year construction period the Military History Museum of the Bundeswehr opened in autumn of 2011.
Image: Dresden, 2011, View of museum with new building, Bundeswehr, Mandt
Dresden, 2011, View of museum with new building, Bundeswehr, Mandt

Image: Dresden, 2011, View of the exhibition, Bundeswehr, Mandt
Dresden, 2011, View of the exhibition, Bundeswehr, Mandt
Name
Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr
Address
Olbrichtplatz 1
01099 Dresden
Phone
+49 (0)351 823 280 3
Fax
+49 (0)351 823 280 5
Web
http://www.mhmbw.de
E-Mail
MilHistMuseumBwEingang@bundeswehr.org
Open
Thursday to Tuesday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday 10 a.m. to 9 p.m., closed on Wednesdays
Possibilities
Guided tours, educational offers

• Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr
Das Militärhistorische Museum der Bundeswehr in Dresden setzt sich seit seiner Eröffnung 2011 kritisch mit den Themen Krieg und Gewalt auseinander. Das Museum war zuvor bereits Armeemuseum der Nationalen Volksarmee (NVA), der Wehrmacht und der Königlich Sächsischen Armee.
Bild:Dresden, 1972, Das Armeemuseum der DDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler
Dresden, 1972, Das Armeemuseum der DDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler

Bild:Dresden, 2011, Das militärhistorische Museum der Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Dresden, 2011, Das militärhistorische Museum der Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
In Dresden, Hauptstadt des Königreichs Sachsen, entstand um 1870 eine der größten Kasernenanlagen Europas. Im Norden der Stadt ließ der König Albert von Sachsen einen Komplex aus Kasernen, Lazaretten und Lagerräumen errichten, die sogenannte Albertstadt. Im Arsenal lagerten hunderte Geschütze und tausende Feuerwaffen. Auch Beutewaffen wurden hier gesammelt. 1897 wurde die Waffensammlung für das Publikum geöffnet: Die Zurschaustellung der eigenen Waffentechnik sowie in Kriegen erbeuteter Waffen war wichtiger Bestandteil der nationalen Identitätsstiftung in der militaristisch geprägten Gesellschaft des Kaiserreichs. Mit Beginn des Ersten Weltkriegs blieb das inzwischen umbenannte Königlich Sächsische Armeemuseum teilweise geschlossen. Erst 1924 öffnete das Sächsische Armeemuseum wieder vollständig für Besucher. Während des Nationalsozialismus wurde das Museum von der Wehrmacht verwaltet. Mit dem Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs 1939 lagerte die Wehrmacht im Heeresmuseum Dresden vor allem Beutewaffen. Die starke Bombardierung durch die Alliierten im Februar 1945 überstand das Armeemuseum weitgehend unbeschadet.
Bild:Dresden, 1972, Das Armeemuseum der DDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler
Dresden, 1972, Das Armeemuseum der DDR, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L0929-0020, Ulrich Häßler

Bild:Dresden, 2011, Das militärhistorische Museum der Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Dresden, 2011, Das militärhistorische Museum der Bundeswehr, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Das Armee- beziehungsweise Heeresmuseum in Dresden ist ein Ort, an dem sich die verschiedenen deutschen Armeen selbst inszenierten und Krieg und Gewalt verherrlichten. Menschen kamen hier nicht zu Schaden.
Bild:Dresden, 2011, Keilförmiger Neubau von Libeskind, Bundeswehr, Bienert
Dresden, 2011, Keilförmiger Neubau von Libeskind, Bundeswehr, Bienert

Bild:Dresden, 2011, Innenansicht Neubau, Bundeswehr
Dresden, 2011, Innenansicht Neubau, Bundeswehr
Mit dem Ende des Krieges 1945 war ungewiss, ob das Armeemuseum in Dresden jemals wieder öffnen würde. Viele Ausstellungsstücke waren ausgelagert oder als Kriegsbeute abtransportiert worden. Zudem hatten die Alliierten verboten, Ausstellungen und Museen mit »militärischem Charakter« zu betreiben. Da große Teile der Dresdner Innenstadt durch die Bombardierung in Trümmern lagen, entschied sich die Stadtverwaltung dazu, das ungenutzte und unbeschädigte Arsenalgebäude als Stadthalle zu verwenden. Dort wurden Veranstaltungen, Ausstellungen und politische Versammlungen abgehalten. Nach der Staatsgründung der DDR und der Gründung der Nationalen Volksarmee (NVA) eröffnete in Potsdam 1961 erstmals eine militärgeschichtliche Sammlung der DDR. Mitte der 1960er Jahre entschied sich die Führung der NVA, in das Dresdener Arsenalgebäude umzuziehen und die Tradition des Militärmuseums unter anderen Vorzeichen fortzuführen. 1972 eröffnete das Armeemuseum Dresden nach langer Umbauphase, das ganz im Zeichen der NVA als Schützerin des Sozialismus stand.
Nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung 1990 übernahm die Bundeswehr das Museum und baute es in den folgenden Jahren zum zentralen Museum der Bundeswehr aus. 2001 gewann der Architekt Daniel Libeskind den Wettbewerb für einen umfassenden Umbau des Museumsgebäudes. Libeskind erweiterte das alte Gebäude um einen Neubau, der in Keilform durch den Altbau aus dem Gebäude herausragt. Diese Dekonstruktion des alten Arsenals soll die wechselhafte Geschichte des deutschen Militärs verdeutlichen. Symbolisch unterstreicht der Keilbau die mit dem Militär verknüpften Themen von Zerstörung und Gewalt. Gleichzeitig weist die Spitze des Keils in Richtung der wiederaufgebauten Dresdner Altstadt. Nach siebenjähriger Bauzeit wurde das Militärgeschichtliche Museum der Bundeswehr im Herbst 2011 eröffnet.
Bild:Dresden, 2011, Ansicht des Gebäudes mit Neubau, Bundeswehr, Mandt
Dresden, 2011, Ansicht des Gebäudes mit Neubau, Bundeswehr, Mandt

Bild:Dresden, 2011, Blick in die Ausstellung, Bundeswehr, Mandt
Dresden, 2011, Blick in die Ausstellung, Bundeswehr, Mandt
Name
Militärhistorisches Museum der Bundeswehr
Adresse
Olbrichtplatz 2
01099 Dresden
Telefon
+49 (0)351 823 280 3
Fax
+49 (0)351 823 280 5
Web
http://www.mhmbw.de
E-Mail
MilHistMuseumBwEingang@bundeswehr.org
Öffnungszeiten
Donnerstag bis Dienstag: 10.00 bis 18.00
Montag: 10.00 bis 21.00
Mittwochs geschlossen
Angebot
Führungen, pädagogische Angebote