• Oskar Schindler's Enamel Factory
The museum »Oskar Schindler's Enamel Factory«, short Schindler's factory, opened in 2010 and provides information on the time of the German occupation of Cracow 1939-1945 as well as on the saving of more than 1,000 Jews by the entrepreneur Oskar Schindler (1908–1974).
Image: Cracow, 1939, Parade of a police battalion in front of Governor-General Hans Frank and Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269
Cracow, 1939, Parade of a police battalion in front of Governor-General Hans Frank and Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269

Image: Cracow, 2011, External view of »Schindler's factory«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Cracow, 2011, External view of »Schindler's factory«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Until 1596 Cracow (Polish: Kraków) was the capital of the Kingdom of Poland. Jews lived there since the 12th century. In addition many Jews lived in the town of Kazimierz which was incorporated into Cracow in 1867. At that time Cracow was part of Austria-Hungary but was considered to be the centre of the Polish independence movement. In 1918, Cracow became part of the independent Polish Republic.
After the German attack on Poland Cracow was occupied on September 6, 1939. In October the occupants installed the General Government (German: Generalgouvernement) in central Poland, practically a colony of the Third Reich, iand chose Cracow instead of Warsaw as its capital. Governor-General Hans Frank set up his headquarters in the Wawel complex, once the royal castle.
From the start Jews were persecuted. Of the approximately 60,000 Jews of Cracow Frank expelled about 43,000 in 1940. In March of 1941 the Jews had to move to a ghetto in the borough of Podgórze. The living conditions there were catastrophic. In 1942 the SS murdered more than 10,000 Jews from the ghetto in the Bełżec extermination camp with poison gas during various »Aktionen«. In March 1943 the ghetto was liquidated: part of its population was murdered by the SS in Auschwitz, those fit for work were deported to the nearby concentration camp of Płaszów.
The entrepreneur Oskar Schindler came to Cracow in 1939 and bought an enamel factory. There he employed Jewish forced labourers but treated them humane. On the site of the factory he arranged for the construction of a satellite camp of the Płaszów concentration camp. With tricks and bribery he managed to save several hundred Jews. When in 1944 it became clear that all the remaining Jews of Cracow were to be murdered, Schindler moved his factory to Brünnlitz (Czech: Brněnec) in Bohemia. To save as many lives as possible he entered many false data into the transport list. Thus more than 1,100 escaped death, among them elderly and children.
Image: Cracow, 1939, Parade of a police battalion in front of Governor-General Hans Frank and Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269
Cracow, 1939, Parade of a police battalion in front of Governor-General Hans Frank and Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269

Image: Cracow, 2011, External view of »Schindler's factory«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Cracow, 2011, External view of »Schindler's factory«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
During the war Cracow was by and large spared from combat operations but the loss of human life was nevertheless enormous. Hans Frank established a murderous terror regime. Cracow was to become a German city, for that Poles were to be suppressed and exploited and Jews were destined to be annihilated. Almost all of the 60,000 Jews of Cracow were murdered by the German occupants, thousands of Poles, particularly members of the elite were executed or transferred to concentration camps. As early as November 1939 Frank had 183 professors of Cracow arrested and deported to the concentration camps of Sachsenhausen and Dachau. Also the loss of property in Cracow was very high, many of the looted cultural assets remain lost to the present.
In the autumn of 1944 Oskar Schindler managed to put 801 men and 297 women on his list and to transfer them to Brünnlitz (Czech: Brněnec). They were liberated there by the Red Army in May 1945.
Image: Cracow, 1941, Raid by German order police in Kazimierz, Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-030-0780-23
Cracow, 1941, Raid by German order police in Kazimierz, Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-030-0780-23

Image: Cracow, 2010, View of the permanent exhibition, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Cracow, 2010, View of the permanent exhibition, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
After the war the Jews saved by Oskar Schindler supported the public recognition of Oskar Schindler as a lifesaver. In 1962 Schindler was honoured in the Jerusalem memorial Yad Vashem while in Germany he remained largely unknown and had financial difficulties. After his death in 1974 he was buried in Israel. In 1993 the story of the saving of the »Schindler Jews« became famous worldwide thanks to Steven Spielberg's film »Schindler's List«. The film triggered a tourism boom to Cracow: Since then hundreds of thousands of visitors want to discover the traces of Jewish life in Cracow each year, especially in the borough of Kazimierz.
In 2005 the city of Cracow purchased the site of the former enamel factory of Oskar Schindler. The three-storey administration building in the borough of Podgórze survived, unlike the satellite camp. In 2010 the museum »Oskar Schindler's Enamel Factory« opened, a branch of the Historical Museum of the City of Cracow. The interactive multimedia permanent exhibition does not mainly address the story of Oskar Schindler but the German occupation of Cracow 1939-1945 in general. The visitors get an impression of everyday life during the war, including that of the Polish population as well as that of the Jews locked into the ghetto. Among the further subjects of the exhibition are the Polish resistance movement, the Płaszów concentration camp and the city's liberation in January 1945.
Image: Cracow, 2010, View of the permanent exhibition, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Cracow, 2010, View of the permanent exhibition, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera

Image: Cracow, Replica of Oskar Schindler's office at the permanent exhibition, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Cracow, Replica of Oskar Schindler's office at the permanent exhibition, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Name
Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Address
ul. Lipowa 4
30-702 Kraków
Phone
+48 (0)12 257 101 7
Fax
+48 (0)12 257 101 7
Web
http://www.mhk.pl/oddzialy/fabryka-schindlera
E-Mail
fabrykaschindlera@mhk.pl
Open
November to March: Monday 10a.m. to 2 p.m., Tuesday to Sunday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.;

April to October: Monday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (first Monday of the month to 2 p.m.), Tuesday to Sunday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Possibilities
Permanent exhibition, special exhibitions, guided tours for groups and individuals, thematic guided tours and walks, readings, workshops

• Emaillewarenfabrik Oskar Schindlers
Das 2010 eröffnete Museum » Emaillewarenfabrik Oskar Schindlers«, kurz Schindlerfabrik, informiert über die Zeit der deutschen Besatzung Krakaus 1939–1945 sowie über die Geschichte der Rettung von über 1.000 Juden durch den Unternehmer Oskar Schindler (1908–1974).
Bild:Krakau, 1939, Vorbeimarsch eines Polizei-Bataillons vor Generalgouverneur Frank und Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269
Krakau, 1939, Vorbeimarsch eines Polizei-Bataillons vor Generalgouverneur Frank und Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269

Bild:Krakau, 2011, Außenansicht der »Schindlerfabrik«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Krakau, 2011, Außenansicht der »Schindlerfabrik«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Krakau (polnisch: Kraków) war bis 1596 Hauptstadt des Königreichs Polen. Juden lebten dort seit dem 12. Jahrhundert. Viele Juden lebten zudem in Kazimierz, das 1867 von Krakau eingemeindet wurde. In dieser Zeit gehörte Krakau zu Österreich-Ungarn, galt aber als Zentrum der polnischen Unabhängigkeitsbewegung. Eine Minderheit der Juden gehörte zur bürgerlichen Oberschicht, während die Mehrheit traditionell lebte und unter sich blieb, vor allem in Kazimierz.
1918 wurde Krakau Teil des unabhängigen Polen. Nach dem deutschen Angriff wurde Krakau bereits am 6. September 1939 besetzt. Im Oktober richteten die Besatzer in Zentralpolen das Generalgouvernement, eine Art Kolonie des Deutschen Reiches, ein, dessen Hauptstadt Krakau wurde. Generalgouverneur Hans Frank residierte in der alten polnischen Königsburg Wawel.
Juden wurden von Anfang an verfolgt. Von den etwa 60.000 Juden Krakaus ließ Frank 1940 etwa 43.000 abschieben. Im März 1941 mussten die Juden in ein Ghetto im Stadtviertel Podgórze umziehen. Die Lebensbedingungen dort waren katastrophal. 1942 ermordete die SS bei mehreren »Aktionen« mehr als 10.000 Juden aus dem Ghetto im Vernichtungslager Belzec mit Giftgas. Im März 1943 wurde das Ghetto aufgelöst; ein Teil ermordete die SS in Auschwitz, während die Arbeitsfähigen ins nahegelegene Konzentrationslager Plaszow (polnisch: Płaszów) verschleppt wurden.
Der Unternehmer Oskar Schindler kam 1939 nach Krakau und kaufte eine Emaillewarenfabrik auf. Dort ließ er jüdische Zwangsarbeiter beschäftigen, die er jedoch menschlich behandelte. Auf dem Fabrikgelände ließ er ein Außenlager des KZ Plaszow einrichten. Durch List und Bestechung gelang es ihm, mehrere hundert Juden in Sicherheit zu bringen. Als 1944 klar wurde, dass alle noch in Krakau lebenden Juden ermordet werden sollten, ließ Schindler seine Fabrik ins böhmische Brünnlitz (tschechisch: Brněnec) verlegen. Um möglichst viele Leben zu retten, ließ er bei der Zusammenstellung der Transportliste auch falsche Eingaben eintragen. Insgesamt 1.100 Juden entkamen auf diese Weise dem Tod, darunter Alte und Kinder.
Bild:Krakau, 1939, Vorbeimarsch eines Polizei-Bataillons vor Generalgouverneur Frank und Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269
Krakau, 1939, Vorbeimarsch eines Polizei-Bataillons vor Generalgouverneur Frank und Himmler, Bundesarchiv, Bild 121-0269

Bild:Krakau, 2011, Außenansicht der »Schindlerfabrik«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Krakau, 2011, Außenansicht der »Schindlerfabrik«, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Während des Krieges blieb Krakau weitgehend von Kampfhandlungen verschont, aber die Verluste an Menschenleben waren dennoch immens. Hans Frank ließ eine mörderische Terrorherrschaft errichten; Krakau sollte eine deutsche Stadt werden, dafür wurden Polen unterdrückt und ausgebeutet sowie Juden der Vernichtung preisgegeben. Fast alle 60.000 Krakauer Juden wurden durch die deutschen Besatzer ermordet. Tausende Polen wurden hingerichtet oder in Konzentrationslager überstellt, vor allem Angehörige der Oberschicht. Bereits im November 1939 ließ Frank 183 Krakauer Professoren verhaften und in die Konzentrationslager Sachsenhausen und Dachau verschleppen. Auch die materiellen Verluste waren in Krakau sehr hoch, viele geraubte Kulturgüter sind bis heute verschollen.
Oskar Schindler gelang es im Herbst 1944, 801 Männer und 297 Frauen auf seine Liste zu setzen und sie nach Brünnlitz (tschechisch: Brněnec) zu bringen. Sie wurden im Mai 1945 durch die Rote Armee befreit.
Bild:Krakau, 1941, Razzia von deutscher Ordnungspolizei in Kazimierz, Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-030-0780-23
Krakau, 1941, Razzia von deutscher Ordnungspolizei in Kazimierz, Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-030-0780-23

Bild:Krakau, 2010, Blick in die Dauerusstellung, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Krakau, 2010, Blick in die Dauerusstellung, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Die durch Oskar Schindler geretteten Juden setzten sich nach Kriegsende für seine öffentliche Anerkennung als Retter ein. 1962 wurde Schindler in der Jerusalemer Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem geehrt, während er in Deutschland weitgehend unbekannt blieb und finanzielle Schwierigkeiten hatte. Nach seinem Tod 1974 ließ er sich in Israel bestatten.
Die Geschichte der Rettung der »Schindlerjuden« wurde 1993 durch Steven Spielbergs Film »Schindlers Liste« weltberühmt. Der Film löste in Krakau einen Tourismusboom aus: Hunderttausende Besucher wollen seither jährlich die Spuren jüdischen Lebens in Krakau entdecken, vor allem im Stadtteil Kazimierz.
2005 kaufte die Stadt Krakau das Gelände der ehemaligen Emaillewarenfabrik Schindlers auf. Das dreistöckige Verwaltungsgebäude im Stadtteil Podgórze blieb im Gegensatz zum Außenlager erhalten. 2010 eröffnete im Gebäude das Museum » Emaillewarenfabrik Oskar Schindlers«, ein Ableger des Historischen Museums Krakau. Die interaktive und multimediale Dauerausstellung hat nicht so sehr die Geschichte von Oskar Schindler, sondern vielmehr die deutsche Besatzung Krakaus 1939–1945 insgesamt zum Thema. Der Besucher soll einen Eindruck vom Kriegsalltag bekommen, sowohl der polnischen Bevölkerung als aus auch der ins Ghetto gesperrten Juden. Weitere Themen sind unter anderem die polnische Widerstandsbewegung, das Konzentrationslager Plaszow sowie die Befreiung der Stadt im Januar 1945.
Bild:Krakau, 2010, Blick in die Dauerusstellung, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Krakau, 2010, Blick in die Dauerusstellung, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera

Bild:Krakau, Nachbau des Büros Oskar Schindlers in der Dauerausstellung, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Krakau, Nachbau des Büros Oskar Schindlers in der Dauerausstellung, Muzeum Historyczne Miasta Krakowa Oddzial Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Name
Fabryka Emalia Oskara Schindlera
Adresse
ul. Lipowa 4
30-702 Kraków
Telefon
+48 (0)12 257 101 7
Fax
+48 (0)12 257 101 7
Web
http://www.mhk.pl/oddzialy/fabryka-schindlera
E-Mail
fabrykaschindlera@mhk.pl
Öffnungszeiten
November bis März:
montags 10.00 bis 14.00, dienstags bis sonntags 10.00 bis 18.00
April bis Oktober:
montags 10.00 bis 16.00 (Erster Montag des Monats bis 14.00), dienstags bis sonntags 9.00 bis 20.00
Angebot
Daueraustellung, Sonderausstellungen, Gruppen- und Individualführungen, thematische Führungen und Spaziergänge, Vorträge, Workshops