• Memorial Submarine Bunker »Valentin«
Since May 2011, the Memorial Submarine Bunker »Valentin« commemorates the victims of the satellite concentration camp in Bremen-Farge and six other camps in the region. Between 1938 and 1945, the prisoners were deployed in the construction of the »Valentin« submarine bunker and an extensive underground fuel supply deposit for Wehrmacht and navy.
Image: Bremen-Farge, 1944, Construction site of the »Valentin« submarine bunker, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, N/A
Bremen-Farge, 1944, Construction site of the »Valentin« submarine bunker, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, N/A

Image: Bremen-Farge, 2007, View of the bunker from the South, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Bremen-Farge, 2007, View of the bunker from the South, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
In 1936, the Economic Research Foundation (Wirtschaftliche Forschungsgemeinschaft, WiFo), a camouflage organization of the Reich Ministry of Econoic Affairs, began setting up an underground fuel deposit for the Wehrmacht in a forest close to Bremen-Farge. In 1938/1939, the first barrack camp to house WiFo forced labourers was constructed by the Gottlieb Tesch building firm. That same year, the »Marinegemeinschaftslager« I and II (navy labour camp for civilians) for the construction of a navy fuel deposit were built; later, Soviet prisoners of war were incarcerated there. In the following years, further camps were set up in the area: in 1940, the Gestapo established a labour education camp (AEL) in Farge, and a camp for prisoners of war and labourers from the east. Most of the prisoners were deployed in forced labour at the fuel deposit construction site. In the summer of 1943, Organisation Todt (OT) and regional building firms began constructing the »Valentin« U-boat bunker in a submarine shipyard sheltered from air raids on the banks of the Unterweser River in Farge. From that time on, many of the prisoners were deployed at this construction site. In addition, a satellite camp of the Neuengamme concentration camp was established in autumn 1943 in the Rekumer Feldmark. There were more than 2,000 forced labourers at the Bremen-Farge satellite camp alone. They had to do heavy work at the construction site at least ten hours a day, which, coupled with insufficient provisions, soon led to many deaths. After an Allied air raid on March 27, 1945, during which the bunker ceiling was hit, the camp commanders shut down all construction work - no U-boat was ever completed in the shipyard. The SS evacuated the Farge satellite camp on April 10, 1945, and the prisoners were forced to march to Neuengamme near Hamburg. There were at least seven forced labour camps in Bremen-Farge and the surrounding areas. They were liberated by the Allies at the beginning of May 1945.
Image: Bremen-Farge, 1944, Construction site of the »Valentin« submarine bunker, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, N/A
Bremen-Farge, 1944, Construction site of the »Valentin« submarine bunker, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, N/A

Image: Bremen-Farge, 2007, View of the bunker from the South, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Bremen-Farge, 2007, View of the bunker from the South, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Up to 12,000 people were incarcerated in the camps around Farge. Most of them had to conduct forced labour at the bunker construction site. They came from all over Europe as prisoners of war, concentration camp prisoners, forced labourers or »Ostarbeiter« - labourers from the Soviet Union. The number of deaths caused by forced labour and incarceration can only be estimated: at least 1,000 people died during construction work. After the Bremen-Farge satellite camp had been evacuated and the prisoners had been forced to march to Neuengamme, many of them were loaded onto so-called concentration camp ships and taken out to the bay of Neustadt. They perished when the ships were sunk during an air raid.
Image: Bremen-Farge, 1944, Forced labourers on the construction site of the submarine bunker, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-23-21, N/A
Bremen-Farge, 1944, Forced labourers on the construction site of the submarine bunker, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-23-21, N/A

After World War II, the Allies took over the WiFo premises and the bunker shell construction. From 1957 on, the German ministry of defence administered the WiFo tank complex until it was taken over by the Industry Administration Society (Industrieverwaltungsgesellschaft - IVG) in 1961. In October 1966, the Bundeswehr opened a navy supply deposit in a renovated part of the »Valentin« bunker. In the 1960s, the Bundeswehr also took over the premises of the former »Marinegemeinschaftslager«. In the 1980s, discussions concerning the history of forced labour in Farge and the possibility of setting up a memorial at the bunker were initiated. Since 1990, visitors can book a guided tour of the bunker with the Bundeswehr. In 1995, the Bundeswehr set up a monument to the victims of the Farge satellite camp. In 1999, the private »Geschichtslehrpfad Lagerstraße e.V.« (History Trail Lagerstraße Association) was founded. The bunker was placed under monumental protection in 2005, the Bundeswehr gave up the facilities in 2010. In 2009, the city of Bremen began to turn the bunker into a memorial site. After the Bundeswehr left the premises and construction work on the historical building had been completed, a part of the bunker has been opened as the Memorial Submarine Bunker Valentin on May 8, 2011. There is an exhibition in the building, while guided tours present the bunker building and the remains of the former labour camps.
Image: Bremen-Farge, 2006, Ruins in the bunker, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Bremen-Farge, 2006, Ruins in the bunker, Harald Schwörer, photein.de

Name
Denkort Bunker Valentin
Address
Rekumer Siel
28777 Bremen
Phone
+49 (0) 421 361 255 5
Web
http://www.denkort-bunker-valentin.de
E-Mail
mail@bunkervalentin.de
Open
By appointment.
Possibilities
Guided tours

• Denkort Bunker Valentin
Seit Mai 2011 erinnert der »Denkort Bunker Valentin« an die Opfer des Außenlagers Bremen-Farge und sechs weiterer Lager in der Umgebung. Zwischen 1938 und 1945 wurden die Häftlinge als Zwangsarbeiter zum Bau des U-Boot-Bunkers »Valentin« und eines unterirdischen Treibstofflagers für Wehrmacht und Marine eingesetzt.
Bild:Bremen-Farge, 1944, Baustelle des U-Boot Bunkers »Valentin«, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, k.A.
Bremen-Farge, 1944, Baustelle des U-Boot Bunkers »Valentin«, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, k.A.

Bild:Bremen-Farge, 2007, Die Südseite des Bunkers, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Bremen-Farge, 2007, Die Südseite des Bunkers, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Die Wirtschaftliche Forschungsgemeinschaft (WiFo), eine Tarngesellschaft des Reichswirtschaftsministeriums, begann 1936 in einem Waldstück in der Nähe von Bremen-Farge mit dem Bau eines unterirdischen Treibstofflagers zur Versorgung der Wehrmacht. 1938/39 entstand ein erstes Lager, in dem die Baufirma Gottlieb Tesch für die WiFo Zwangsarbeiter unterbrachte. Im selben Jahr entstanden die »Marinegemeinschaftslager« I und II für den Bau eines Marinetreibstofflagers, in denen später auch sowjetische Kriegsgefangene inhaftiert waren. In den folgenden Jahren entstanden weitere Lager in der Umgebung: 1940 richtete die Gestapo ein Arbeitserziehungslager (AEL) in Farge ein, zudem wurden ein Kriegsgefangenen- und ein »Ostarbeiter«-Lager eingerichtet. Die meisten Häftlinge mussten auf der Baustelle des Treibstofflagers Zwangsarbeit leisten. Im Sommer 1943 begann die Organisation Todt (OT) zusammen mit regionalen Baufirmen mit dem Bau des U-Boot-Bunkers »Valentin« an der Unterweser in Farge, einer verbunkerten U-Boot-Werft. Ein Teil der Häftlinge wurde fortan auf dieser Baustelle eingesetzt. Zusätzlich wurde im Herbst 1943 ein Außenlager des KZ-Neuengamme in der Rekumer Feldmark errichtet. Allein im Außenlager Bremen-Farge waren über 2.000 Zwangsarbeiter gefangen. Sie mussten täglich mindestens zehn Stunden auf der Baustelle des Bunkers schwerste körperliche Arbeit ausführen. Die unzureichende Versorgung und die harte Arbeit führten bald zu vielen Todesfällen. Nach einem alliierten Bombenangriff am 27. März 1945, bei dem die Decke des Bunkers durchschlagen wurde, stellten die Verantwortlichen die Bauarbeiten ein, ohne dass ein U-Boot in der Werft je fertig gestellt worden wäre. Die SS räumte das Außenlager in Farge am 10. April 1945, die Häftlinge mussten zu Fuß zurück nach Neuengamme bei Hamburg marschieren. In Bremen-Farge und Umgebung gab es mindestens sieben Lager für Zwangsarbeiter. Sie wurden von alliierten Truppen in den ersten Maitagen 1945 befreit.
Bild:Bremen-Farge, 1944, Baustelle des U-Boot Bunkers »Valentin«, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, k.A.
Bremen-Farge, 1944, Baustelle des U-Boot Bunkers »Valentin«, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-10-05A, k.A.

Bild:Bremen-Farge, 2007, Die Südseite des Bunkers, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Bremen-Farge, 2007, Die Südseite des Bunkers, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
In den verschiedenen Lagern in der Umgebung von Farge waren bis zu 12.000 Menschen inhaftiert. Die meisten von ihnen mussten auf der Baustelle des Bunkers Zwangsarbeit leisten. Sie kamen aus allen Teilen Europas als Kriegsgefangene und KZ-Häftlinge, als Zwangsarbeiter oder »Ostarbeiter«. Die Zahl der Todesopfer durch Zwangsarbeit und Lagerhaft lässt sich nur schätzen: Mindestens 1.100 Menschen starben während der Bauarbeiten. Nach der Räumung des Außenlagers Bremen-Farge und dem Marsch der Häftlinge nach Neuengamme wurden viele Häftlinge von dort auf sogenannte KZ-Schiffe in der Neustädter Bucht verschleppt und starben, als die Schiffe nach einem Bombenangriff sanken.
Bild:Bremen-Farge, 1944, Zwangsarbeiter auf der Baustelle des U-Boot-Bunkers, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-23-21, k.A.
Bremen-Farge, 1944, Zwangsarbeiter auf der Baustelle des U-Boot-Bunkers, Bundesarchiv, Bild 185-23-21, k.A.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg übernahmen die Alliierten das WiFo-Gelände und den Bunker-Rohbau. Ab 1957 betrieb das deutsche Verteidigungsministerium die WiFo-Tankanlagen bis sie 1961 von der Industrieverwaltungsgesellschaft (IVG) übernommen wurden. Im Oktober 1966 eröffnete die Bundeswehr in einem renovierten Teil des Bunkers »Valentin« ein Marinematerialdepot, in dem Marineausrüstung gelagert wurde. Ebenfalls in den 1960er Jahren übernahm die Bundeswehr das Gelände des ehemaligen »Marinegemeinschaftslagers«. In den 1980er Jahren entbrannte eine Diskussion über Zwangsarbeit in Farge und die Möglichkeiten zur Gestaltung einer Gedenkstätte am Bunker. Seit 1990 können Besucher nach vorheriger Anmeldung bei der Bundeswehr eine Führung durch Teile des Bunkers bekommen; 1995 ließen Verantwortliche der Bundeswehr einen Gedenkstein für die Opfer des Außenlager Farge aufstellen. 1999 gründete sich der private Verein »Geschichtslehrpfad Lagerstraße e.V.«, der Besuchern erstmals die ehemaligen Lagergelände zugänglich machte und Führungen anbot. Der Bunker wurde 2005 unter Denkmalschutz gestellt, die Bundeswehr gab das Marinedepot im Jahr 2010 auf. Im Jahr 2009 begann das Land Bremen, den Bunker in ein Gedenkstätte umzuwandeln. Nach dem Auszug der Bundeswehr und Ausbauarbeiten am historischen Bunkergebäude, konnte am 8. Mai 2011 ein Teil des Bunkers als Gedenkstätte »Denkort Bunker Valentin« eröffnet werden. Im Gebäude gibt es eine Überblicksausstellung, Mitarbeiter führen durch den Bunker oder zu den Überresten der umliegenden ehemaligen Lager.
Bild:Bremen-Farge, 2006, Ruinenteil des Bunkers, Harald Schwörer, photein.de
Bremen-Farge, 2006, Ruinenteil des Bunkers, Harald Schwörer, photein.de

Name
Denkort Bunker Valentin
Adresse
Rekumer Siel 1
28777 Bremen
Telefon
+49 (0) 421 361 255 5
Web
http://www.denkort-bunker-valentin.de
E-Mail
mail@bunkervalentin.de
Öffnungszeiten
Nach Vereinbarung.
Angebot
Führungen