• Memorial Complex Babi Yar
In the Babi Yar ravine (Ukrainian: Babyn Yar), 7 kilometres north of the city centre of the Ukrainian capital Kiev (Ukrainian: Kyiv), several memorials are dedicated to those murdered in the largest mass shooting of Jews during the Second World War. In September 1941, Einsatzgruppe C (mobile killing squad) shot at least 33,000 Jews in Babi Yar.
Image: Babi Yar, end of September 1941, Members of the German order police search the clothing of murdered Jews, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung
Babi Yar, end of September 1941, Members of the German order police search the clothing of murdered Jews, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung

Image: Babi Yar, 2004, The 1976 memorial, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babi Yar, 2004, The 1976 memorial, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Around 220,000 Jews lived in Kiev before it was occupied by German troops, making up a little under a quarter of the population. About 70,000 Jews fled from the approaching German Wehrmacht to the East. On September 19, 1941, the 6th Army of the Wehrmacht occupied Kiev. They were followed by Sonderkommando 4a (special unit) and shortly afterwards the entire Einsatzgruppe C (mobile killing squad). The local Wehrmacht and SS leaders began planning the murder of the Kiev Jews under the pretense of retaliation measures for bomb attacks on several buildings undertaken by the retreating NKVD. City commander major general Kurt Eberhard explicitly agreed to the murder plans - according to a report of the SS, the Wehrmacht demanded »radical measures«. On the morning of September 29, the Jewish holiday of Yom Kippur, the Jews of Kiev had to gather for their supposed »resettlement«. Over 33,000 Jewish women, children and men were chased to the Babi Yar ravine on Kiev's outskirts by Sonderkommando 4a of Einsatzgruppe C, who were assisted by Ukranian militia and Wehrmacht soldiers. There the Jews had to undress and submit their valuables. They were then forced to line up in rows of ten and stand at the edge of the ravine. Members of Sonderkommando 4a shot them with machine guns. The murders lasted the entire next day, afterwards military sappers blew up the ravine. The SS also regularly murdered prisoners of war and Romanies at Babi Yar. In the summer of 1943, Paul Blobel returned to Babi Yar with Sonderkommando 1005. This unit's task was to destroy evidence of the murders before the invasion of the approaching Red Army: Jewish forced labourers had to dig up and incinerate the decaying corpses. The massacre of Babi Yar is considered the single largest mass shooting of the Holocaust.
Image: Babi Yar, end of September 1941, Members of the German order police search the clothing of murdered Jews, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung
Babi Yar, end of September 1941, Members of the German order police search the clothing of murdered Jews, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung

Image: Babi Yar, 2004, The 1976 memorial, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babi Yar, 2004, The 1976 memorial, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
According to their own records, members the Einsatzgruppe C murdered 33.771 Jewish children, women and men in Babi Yar between September 29 and 30, 1941.
Image: Kiev, end of September 1941, Jews shot dead on the marching route to Babi Yar, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung.
Kiev, end of September 1941, Jews shot dead on the marching route to Babi Yar, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung.

Image: Babi Yar, n.d., Ceremony at the Memorial to the victims of Babi Yar, ITAR-TASS.
Babi Yar, n.d., Ceremony at the Memorial to the victims of Babi Yar, ITAR-TASS.
For decades after the end of the Second World War, no monument was erected in Babi Yar. Instead, Ukrainian communist party leaders had the ravine levelled in 1962 and established a park on the site. Upon pressure exerted by survivors and from abroad, a memorial was dedicated on September 29, 1976, the 35th anniversary of the murders. Since the park from the 1960's is on the site of the ravine, the authorities set up the memorial further away from Babi Yar and marked the former outline of the ravine with dug out channels. The inscription on the memorial does not mention Jewish victims. In 1991, the first official commemoration ceremony dedicated to the Jewish victims of Babi Yar took place, and an inscription to honour the murdered Jews of Kiev was added. Moreover, a stone menorah was set up in the vicinity of the former ravine. Since then several different memorial sculptures, crosses and signs were erected at the site, for instance in 2001 in the memory of the murdered children or in 2016 to honor the Roma victims. To this date, however, there is no central memorial or information centre at the site.
Image: Babi Yar, 2004, Memorial to the children murdered in Babi Yar, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babi Yar, 2004, Memorial to the children murdered in Babi Yar, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß

Image: Babi Yar, 2004, Menorah from the early 1990s, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babi Yar, 2004, Menorah from the early 1990s, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Image: Babi Yar, 2016, The 1976 memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Babi Yar, 2016, The 1976 memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Image: Babi Yar, 2016, Detailed view of the memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Babi Yar, 2016, Detailed view of the memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Image: Babi Yar, 2016, The menorah a few days after the memorial service to mark the 75th anniversary of the massacre, Stiftung Denkmal
Babi Yar, 2016, The menorah a few days after the memorial service to mark the 75th anniversary of the massacre, Stiftung Denkmal
Image: Babi Yar, 2016, Memorial to the murdered Roma, Stiftung Denkmal
Babi Yar, 2016, Memorial to the murdered Roma, Stiftung Denkmal
Name
Memorialnyj Kompleks Babij Jar
Address
Dorogozhitska-Street
01030 Kyjiw
Phone
+380 (0)442 488 917
Fax
+380 (0)442 488 917
Open
The memorial complex is accessible at all times.

• Denkmalanlage Babij Jar
In der Schlucht Babij Jar (ukrainisch: Babyn Jar), 7 Kilometer nördlich vom Stadtzentrum der ukrainischen Hauptstadt Kiew (ukrainisch: Kyjiw) entfernt, erinnern mehrere Denkmale an die größte einzelne Massenerschießung von Juden während des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Im September 1941 erschoss die Einsatzgruppe C mindestens 33.000 Juden in Babij Jar.
Bild:Babij Jar, Ende September 1941, Ordnungspolizei durchsucht die Kleidung ermordeter Juden, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung
Babij Jar, Ende September 1941, Ordnungspolizei durchsucht die Kleidung ermordeter Juden, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung

Bild:Babij Jar, 2004, Das 1976 errichtete Denkmal, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babij Jar, 2004, Das 1976 errichtete Denkmal, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Vor der Besetzung durch deutsche Truppen lebten in Kiew ungefähr 220.000 Juden, etwas weniger als ein Viertel der Gesamtbevölkerung. Etwa 70.000 Juden flohen vor der anrückenden Wehrmacht nach Osten. Am 19. September 1941 besetzte die 6. Armee der Wehrmacht Kiew. Ihnen folgte das Sonderkommando 4a unter Paul Blobel und wenig später die gesamte Einsatzgruppe C. Nachdem einige vom NKWD zurückgelassene und ferngezündete Sprengsätze in mehreren Gebäuden explodierten, planten die örtliche Führung der Wehrmacht und der SS unter dem Vorwand einer »Vergeltungsmaßnahme« die Ermordung der Kiewer Juden. Der Stadtkommandant Generalmajor Kurt Eberhard stimmte den Mordplänen ausdrücklich zu – in einem Bericht der SS hieß es, die Wehrmacht erbitte »radikales Vorgehen«. Am Morgen des 29. September, dem jüdischen Feiertag Jom Kippur, mussten sich die Juden von Kiew zu ihrer angeblichen »Umsiedlung« an einem Sammelplatz einfinden. Über 33.000 jüdische Frauen, Kinder und Männer trieb das Sonderkommando 4a der Einsatzgruppe C unter Mithilfe ukrainischer Milizen und Wehrmachtssoldaten zur Schlucht Babij Jar am Stadtrand von Kiew. Dort mussten sich die Juden entkleiden und ihre Wertsachen abgeben. Dann wurden sie gezwungen, in Zehnerreihen an den Rand der Schlucht zu treten, Angehörige des Sonderkommandos 4a erschossen sie mit Maschinengewehren. Das Morden dauerte noch den ganzen folgenden Tag an, Heerespioniere sprengten die Schlucht anschließend. Immer wieder ermordete die SS auch Kriegsgefangene und Roma in Babij Jar. Im Sommer 1943 kehrte Paul Blobel mit dem Sonderkommando 1005 nach Babij Jar zurück. Diese Einheit hatte den Auftrag die Spuren der Morde vor der anrückenden Roten Armee zu verwischen: Jüdische Zwangsarbeiter mussten die bereits verwesten Leichen ausgraben und verbrennen. Das Massaker von Babij Jar gilt als die größte einzelne Massenerschießung während des Holocaust.
Bild:Babij Jar, Ende September 1941, Ordnungspolizei durchsucht die Kleidung ermordeter Juden, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung
Babij Jar, Ende September 1941, Ordnungspolizei durchsucht die Kleidung ermordeter Juden, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung

Bild:Babij Jar, 2004, Das 1976 errichtete Denkmal, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babij Jar, 2004, Das 1976 errichtete Denkmal, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Nach ihren eigenen Angaben ermordete die Einsatzgruppe C 33.771 jüdische Kinder, Frauen und Männer an den Tagen 29. und 30. September 1941 in Babij Jar.
Bild:Kiew, Ende September 1941, Erschossene auf der Marschstrecke nach Babij Jar, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung
Kiew, Ende September 1941, Erschossene auf der Marschstrecke nach Babij Jar, Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung

Bild:Babij Jar, o.D., Gedenkfeier am Denkmal für die Opfer von Babij Jar, ITAR-TASS
Babij Jar, o.D., Gedenkfeier am Denkmal für die Opfer von Babij Jar, ITAR-TASS
Nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurde in Babij Jar jahrzehntelang kein Denkmal errichtet. Stattdessen ließ die Führung der Kommunistischen Partei der Ukraine die Schlucht 1962 einebnen und einen Kulturpark auf dem Gelände anlegen. Auf Druck aus dem Ausland und von Überlebenden hin, wurde am 29. September 1976, dem 35. Jahrestag der Morde, ein Denkmal eingeweiht. Da sich auf dem Gelände der Schlucht der Kulturpark befindet, errichteten die Behörden das Denkmal ein wenig von Babij Jar entfernt und deuteten die ehemalige Schlucht durch eine Bodenaushebung an. In der Inschrift des Denkmals wurden jüdische Opfer nicht erwähnt. 1991 fand die erste offiziell gebilligte Gedenkfeier für die jüdischen Opfer von Babij Jar statt, eine Inschrift zum Gedenken der ermordeten Juden von Kiew wurde ergänzt. In der Nähe der ehemaligen Schlucht wurde ebenfalls in dieser Zeit eine Menora aus Stein aufgestellt. Seitdem sind mehrere zusätzliche Denkmäler aufgestellt wurden, so zum Beispiel 2001 in Erinnerung an die ermordeten Kinder und 2016 im Gedenken an die ermordeten Roma. Eine einheitliche Gedenkstätte gibt es bis heute nicht.
Bild:Babij Jar, 2004, Denkmal für die in Babij Jar ermordeten Kinder, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babij Jar, 2004, Denkmal für die in Babij Jar ermordeten Kinder, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß

Bild:Babij Jar, 2004, Menora aus den frühen 1990er Jahren, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Babij Jar, 2004, Menora aus den frühen 1990er Jahren, Stiftung Denkmal, Lutz Prieß
Bild:Babij Jar, 2016, Das 1976 errichtete Denkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Babij Jar, 2016, Das 1976 errichtete Denkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Bild:Babij Jar, 2016, Detailansicht des sowjetischen Denkmals, Stiftung Denkmal
Babij Jar, 2016, Detailansicht des sowjetischen Denkmals, Stiftung Denkmal
Bild:Babij Jar, 2016, Die Menora wenige Tage nach der Gedenkfeier zum 75. Jahrestag des Massakers, Stiftung Denkmal
Babij Jar, 2016, Die Menora wenige Tage nach der Gedenkfeier zum 75. Jahrestag des Massakers, Stiftung Denkmal
Bild:Babij Jar, 2016, Denkmal für die ermordeten Roma, Stiftung Denkmal
Babij Jar, 2016, Denkmal für die ermordeten Roma, Stiftung Denkmal
Name
Memorialnyj Kompleks Babij Jar
Adresse
Dorogoshizka-Str.
01030 Kyjiw
Telefon
+380 (0)442 488 917
Fax
+380 (0)442 488 917
Öffnungszeiten
Die Denkmalanlage ist jederzeit zugänglich.