• Memorials for the Victims of the Baranovichi Ghetto
Several memorials in the Belarusian town of Baranovichi (Polish: Baranowicze) commemorate its Jewish residents murdered in 1941 and 1942.
Image: Baranovichi, undated, Destroyed houses, Belaruski dzyarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Vyalikay Aytchynnay Vayny
Baranovichi, undated, Destroyed houses, Belaruski dzyarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Vyalikay Aytchynnay Vayny

Image: Baranovichi, 2004, Memorial stone in Tsaryuka Street, the inscription reads: »Located in the town in 1941-1942 was a Jewish ghetto, which 12,000 citizens fell victim to«, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranovichi, 2004, Memorial stone in Tsaryuka Street, the inscription reads: »Located in the town in 1941-1942 was a Jewish ghetto, which 12,000 citizens fell victim to«, Stiftung Denkmal
At least 9,000 Jews lived in Baranovichi before the Second World War, making up about half of the city's population. Between 1920 and 1939 Baranovichi belonged to Poland; after Poland's occupation by Germany and the Soviet Union, Baranovichi came under Soviet rule. Many Jewish refugees from the German-occupied territories came to Baranovichi at the time. It is estimated that there were up to 12,000 Jews in the town in the summer of 1941.
After Germany's assault against the Soviet Union, the German Wehrmacht occupied Baranovichi on June 25, 1941. Along with the army came numerous SS and civil administration authorities. In July 1941, Einsatzkommando 8 (mobile killing unit) under the command of Otto Bradfisch was in town and murdered around 350 Jews. On December 12, 1941, a ghetto for the Jewish population was established. Nearly 12,000 Jews had to live in a very small area and perform forced labour. The first »Aktion« took place on March 3 and 4, 1942, upon orders of Territorial Commissioner Rudolph Werner: members of Belarusian, Latvian and Lithuanian police troops, headed by the German Security Police (SiPo), shot 2,000 Jews, according to some sources they killed as many as 6,000 Jews. A further 10-day »Aktion« was launched on September 22, 1942, during which SiPo and SD (Security Service) shot about 3,000 Jews. The third and last »Aktion« took place on December 17, during which 3000 Jews perished.
Image: Baranovichi, undated, Destroyed houses, Belaruski dzyarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Vyalikay Aytchynnay Vayny
Baranovichi, undated, Destroyed houses, Belaruski dzyarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Vyalikay Aytchynnay Vayny

Image: Baranovichi, 2004, Memorial stone in Tsaryuka Street, the inscription reads: »Located in the town in 1941-1942 was a Jewish ghetto, which 12,000 citizens fell victim to«, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranovichi, 2004, Memorial stone in Tsaryuka Street, the inscription reads: »Located in the town in 1941-1942 was a Jewish ghetto, which 12,000 citizens fell victim to«, Stiftung Denkmal
The memorial is dedicated to the murdered Jews of Baranovichi. different sources, the SS murdered between 8,000 and 12,000 Jews. Amongst them were many refugees from the German-occupied territories of Poland. Jews from surrounding areas were also forcibly relocated to Baranovichi ghetto in 1942. Many Jews from Baranovichi perished in the nearby forced labour camp Koldichevo.
Image: Baranovichi, 2004, Obelisk in the former Jewish cemetery, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranovichi, 2004, Obelisk in the former Jewish cemetery, Stiftung Denkmal
There is a memorial stone in Tsaryuka Street, dedicated to the victims of the ghetto. Its inscription reads: »Located in the town in 1941-1942 was a Jewish ghetto, which 12,000 citizens fell victim to.«
Apart from this stone there are several other memorials remembering the victims of the Holocaust. On the spot of the former Jewish cemetery there is an obelisk, erected in 1992. According to the inscription, it was donated by Jews in Israel and around the world. Here, the ashes of several thousand Jews are buried who were murdered in the mass shootings of 1942. Their remains were brought here upon request of their surviving relatives.
In a forest in the north-eastern part of town, a memorial was inaugurated in 1972. Exactly thirty years before, the SS murdered about 3,000 Czech Jews on the spot who had been deported from the Theresienstadt ghetto.
Image: Baranovichi, 2004, Inscription on the obelisk in the former Jewish cemetery, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranovichi, 2004, Inscription on the obelisk in the former Jewish cemetery, Stiftung Denkmal

Image: Baranovichi, 2004, Memorial for 3,000 Jews from the Theresienstadt ghetto who were murdered here, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranovichi, 2004, Memorial for 3,000 Jews from the Theresienstadt ghetto who were murdered here, Stiftung Denkmal
Name
Pamjatniki shertwam Baranowitscheskogo getto
Phone
+375 163 473 357
Open
The memorial is accessible at all times.

• Erinnerung an die Opfer des Ghettos von Baranowitschi
Mehrere Denkmäler erinnern in der weißrussischen Stadt Baranowitschi (polnisch: Baranowicze) an die in den Jahren 1941 und 1942 ermordeten Juden des Ortes.
Bild:Baranowitschi, o.D., Zerstörte Wohnhäuser, Belaruski dzjarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Wjalikaj Ajtschynnaj Wajny
Baranowitschi, o.D., Zerstörte Wohnhäuser, Belaruski dzjarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Wjalikaj Ajtschynnaj Wajny

Bild:Baranowitschi, 2004, Gedenkstein in der Zarjuka-Straße, Inschrift: »1941-1942 befand sich in der Stadt ein jüdisches Ghetto, dem 12.000 Bürger zum Opfer gefallen sind«, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranowitschi, 2004, Gedenkstein in der Zarjuka-Straße, Inschrift: »1941-1942 befand sich in der Stadt ein jüdisches Ghetto, dem 12.000 Bürger zum Opfer gefallen sind«, Stiftung Denkmal
Vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg lebten in Baranowitschi mindestens 9.000 Juden, etwa die Hälfte der damaligen Einwohner. Von 1920 bis 1939 gehörte Baranowitschi zu Polen, nach der Besetzung Polens durch Deutschland und die Sowjetunion wurde die Stadt der Sowjetunion angegliedert. Zu dieser Zeit kamen viele jüdische Flüchtlinge aus den von Deutschland besetzten polnischen Gebieten nach Baranowitschi. Vermutlich befanden sich im Sommer 1941 bis zu 12.000 Juden in der Stadt.
Nach dem Angriff auf die Sowjetunion besetzte die deutsche Wehrmacht die Stadt am 25. Juni 1941. Mit der Armee zogen auch verschiedene SS- und Zivilverwaltungsdienststellen nach Baranowitschi. Im Juli 1941 hielt sich das Einsatzkommando 8 unter dem Kommando von Otto Bradfisch in der Stadt auf und ermordete etwa 350 Juden. Am 12. Dezember 1941 wurde ein Ghetto für die jüdische Bevölkerung eingerichtet. Nahezu 12.000 Menschen mussten dort auf engstem Raum zusammenleben und wurden zur Zwangsarbeit herangezogen. Auf Befehl des Gebietskommissars Rudolph Werner, fand am 3. und 4. März 1942 eine erste Mordaktion statt: Dabei erschossen Angehörige der weißrussischen, lettischen und litauischen Polizeitruppen unter dem Kommando der deutschen SiPo (Sicherheitspolizei) 2.000, nach anderen Angaben bis zu 6.000 Juden. Ab dem 22. September 1942 fand eine weitere zehntägige »Aktion« statt, bei denen SiPo und SD (Sicherheitsdienst) etwa 3.000 Juden erschossen. Die dritte und letzte Mordaktion erfolgte am 17. Dezember; wiederum 3.000 Juden kamen dabei um.
Bild:Baranowitschi, o.D., Zerstörte Wohnhäuser, Belaruski dzjarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Wjalikaj Ajtschynnaj Wajny
Baranowitschi, o.D., Zerstörte Wohnhäuser, Belaruski dzjarshaŭny muzej gistoryi Wjalikaj Ajtschynnaj Wajny

Bild:Baranowitschi, 2004, Gedenkstein in der Zarjuka-Straße, Inschrift: »1941-1942 befand sich in der Stadt ein jüdisches Ghetto, dem 12.000 Bürger zum Opfer gefallen sind«, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranowitschi, 2004, Gedenkstein in der Zarjuka-Straße, Inschrift: »1941-1942 befand sich in der Stadt ein jüdisches Ghetto, dem 12.000 Bürger zum Opfer gefallen sind«, Stiftung Denkmal
Nach unterschiedlichen Angaben ermordete die SS zwischen 8.000 und 12.000 Juden. Unter ihnen waren viele Flüchtlinge aus dem von Deutschland besetzten Teil Polens. Juden aus der Umgebung von Baranowitschi wurden 1942 ebenfalls im Ghetto gefangengehalten. Viele Juden aus Baranowitschi kamen auch im nahegelegenen Arbeitslager Kolditschewo um.
Bild:Baranowitschi, 2004, Obelisk auf dem ehemaligen jüdischen Friedhof, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranowitschi, 2004, Obelisk auf dem ehemaligen jüdischen Friedhof, Stiftung Denkmal
In der Zarjuka-Straße steht ein Gedenkstein, dass an die Opfer des Ghettos erinnert. Die Inschrift lautet: »1941-1942 befand sich in der Stadt ein jüdisches Ghetto, dem 12.000 Bürger zum Opfer gefallen sind.«
Außer diesem Gedenkstein gibt es noch mehrere Denkmäler, die an die Opfer des Holocaust erinnern. An der Stelle des ehemaligen jüdischen Friedhofs steht seit 1992 ein Obelisk, der laut Inschrift von Juden aus Israel und der ganzen Welt gestiftet wurde. Unter der Erde befindet sich die Asche von mehreren tausend Juden aus dem Ghetto, die im Jahr 1942 bei Massenerschießungen ermordet wurden. Ihre Überreste wurden auf Wunsch der Angehörigen zusammengetragen.
In einem Waldstück im Nordosten der Stadt wurde im Juni 1972 ein Denkmal enthüllt. An dieser Stelle ermordete die SS dreißig Jahre zuvor etwa 3.000 tschechische Juden, die aus dem Ghetto Theresienstadt hierher deportiert worden sind.
Bild:Baranowitschi, 2004, Inschrift auf dem Obelisk am ehemaligen jüdischen Friedhof, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranowitschi, 2004, Inschrift auf dem Obelisk am ehemaligen jüdischen Friedhof, Stiftung Denkmal

Bild:Baranowitschi, 2004, Denkmal für 3.000 ermordete Juden aus dem Ghetto Theresienstadt, Stiftung Denkmal
Baranowitschi, 2004, Denkmal für 3.000 ermordete Juden aus dem Ghetto Theresienstadt, Stiftung Denkmal
Name
Pamjatniki shertwam Baranowitscheskogo getto
Telefon
+375 163 473 357
Öffnungszeiten
Das Denkmal ist jederzeit zugänglich.