• Memorial to the Victims of the Płaszów Concentration Camp
In December 1942, the SS set up one of several hundred forced labour camps in occupied Poland in the Płaszów district of Cracow. At first, Jews were incarcerated in Płaszów, later non-Jewish Poles and several Roma were also among the inmates. From January 1944, about a year before the camp was dismantled, Płaszów was administered as a concentration camp.
Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 1944, View of the Płaszów camp, Yad Vashem
Cracow-Płaszów, 1944, View of the Płaszów camp, Yad Vashem

Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 2009, Memorial to the victims of fascism, Wilfried Mählmann
Cracow-Płaszów, 2009, Memorial to the victims of fascism, Wilfried Mählmann
Cracow was home to one of the oldest Jewish communities in Poland. At the beginning of September 1939, the German Wehrmacht invaded Poland; on September 6, Cracow was occupied. Hans Frank set up headquarters in the Wawel complex, once the royal castle, as Governor General of the occupied Polish territories which had not been incorporated into the German Reich. In May 1940, about half of the 65,000 Jewish residents of Cracow were expelled from the city to nearby villages. Those who remained were forcibly resettled to a ghetto in March 1941.
At the end of 1942, Jewish labourers from the ghetto had to build a forced labour camp on the premises of two Jewish cemeteries in the Płaszów district. In mid-February 1943, about 2,000 Jews were incarcerated in the Płaszów camp. After the dissolution of the Cracow ghetto, the number of inmates rose to 12,000 by autumn 1943. In July 1943, the SS established a »labour education camp« for non-Jewish Poles on the site. All of the prisoners, men and women, had to conduct heavy labour. The Jewish prisoners first worked in factories in Cracow outside of the camp, being forced to march there everyday guarded by the SS. From September 1943 on, they were forced to work in the camp and its satellite camps. The inmates were undernourished and constantly in danger of being murdered or abused by the SS. Camp commandant Amon Göth punished even the smallest offences and single-handedly murdered about 500 prisoners.
In January 1944, Płaszów became an independent concentration camp. In late summer 1944, when the Red Army was advancing, the approximately 24,000 prisoners were deported to other concentration camps. Beginning August 1944, the last prisoners had to partially take down the barracks and exhume corpses from mass graves in order to burn them. On January 14, 1945, the last prisoners of the Płaszów concentration camp, about 625 men and women, were forced to march to Auschwitz.
Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 1944, View of the Płaszów camp, Yad Vashem
Cracow-Płaszów, 1944, View of the Płaszów camp, Yad Vashem

Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 2009, Memorial to the victims of fascism, Wilfried Mählmann
Cracow-Płaszów, 2009, Memorial to the victims of fascism, Wilfried Mählmann
Most of the prisoners at Płaszów were Cracow Jews as the camp was first used by the SS as a forced labour camp for Jews from the Cracow ghetto. In the course of 1943, prisoners from other ghettos in the district of Cracow were also held here. The number of prisoners at the camp was subject to strong fluctuations due to transfers to and from other camps. At the end of July 1944, there were over 20,000 inmates at Płaszów. In May 1944, SS officers selected about 900 ill, weak and elderly prisoners for deportation to the Auschwitz-Birkenau death camp, which lay only about 60 kilometres away. Children were also sent to Auschwitz and killed there. In June 1944, a transport of 5,000 to 6,000 Hungarian Jewish women from Auschwitz arrived in Płaszów; at the beginning of August, they were sent back to Auschwitz to their deaths.
From July 1943 on, there was a separate camp area for non-Jewish Poles. Poles who had been arrested for small offences were incarcerated for a relatively brief period, political prisoners on the other hand were sentenced to indefinite imprisonment. In March 1944, there were about 1,400 Poles in the camp. There were three execution sites at the camp. Two of them were regularly used for the execution of Polish prisoners of the Gestapo, mostly resistance fighters. A total of 3,000 people were murdered at Płaszów – about 1,700 Poles and 1,300 Jews.
Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 1942, Prisoners conducting forced labour, Yad Vashem
Cracow-Płaszów, 1942, Prisoners conducting forced labour, Yad Vashem

Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 2008, Cross on the hill »Hujowa Górka«, one of the camp's execution sites, Lars K. Jensen
Cracow-Płaszów, 2008, Cross on the hill »Hujowa Górka«, one of the camp's execution sites, Lars K. Jensen
In 1964, a 7-metre high »Memorial to the Victims of Fascism in Cracow« (Polish: Pomnik Ofiar Faszyzmu w Krakowie) designed by Witold Cęckiewicz was unveiled. It is dedicated in general to the victims of fascism. Few traces of the former camp remain. In 2003, memorial plaques were affixed to the former camp entrance, presenting information about the history of the camp. Next to it are two further memorial plaques. In 2000, one of them was dedicated to the Hungarian Jewish women who were deported from Płaszów to Auschwitz and murdered there. Another plaque, one which honours all of the victims of Płaszów, was donated by the Jewish community of Cracow. On one of the execution sites, Hujowa Górka, there is a cross with barbed wire on it.
The history of the camp is also dealt with in the permanent exhibition on the history of Cracow during World War II at the »Schindler's Factory« museum (Polish: Fabryka Schindlera). The museum was opened in 2008 in the former administration building of Oskar Schindler's enamelware factory. Prisoners from Płaszów worked here, and Schindler could save about 1,200 of them from being transported to death camps. The story gained world renown thanks to Steven Spielberg's 1993 movie »Schindler's List«.
Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 2008, Memorial to the Jewish victims of the camp, Lars K. Jensen
Cracow-Płaszów, 2008, Memorial to the Jewish victims of the camp, Lars K. Jensen

Image: Cracow-Płaszów, 2008, Back of the memorial to the victims of fascism, Lars K. Jensen
Cracow-Płaszów, 2008, Back of the memorial to the victims of fascism, Lars K. Jensen
Name
Pomnik Ofiar Obozu Koncentracyjnego w Płaszowie
Address
ul. Henryka Kamieńskiego
30-542 Kraków
Open
The memorial is always accessible.

• Denkmal für die Opfer des Konzentrationslagers Plaszow
Im Dezember 1942 ließ die SS im Krakauer Stadtteil Plaszow (polnisch: Płaszów) eines von mehreren hundert Zwangsarbeitslagern im besetzten Polen errichten. In Plaszow waren anfangs Juden inhaftiert, später auch nichtjüdische Polen und einige Roma. Ab Januar 1944, etwa ein Jahr vor der Auflösung des Lagers, wurde Plaszow als eigenständiges Konzentrationslager geführt.
Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 1944, Ansicht des Lagers Plaszow, Yad Vashem
Krakau-Plaszow, 1944, Ansicht des Lagers Plaszow, Yad Vashem

Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 2009, Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus, Wilfried Mählmann
Krakau-Plaszow, 2009, Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus, Wilfried Mählmann
In Krakau (polnisch: Kraków) befand sich eine der ältesten jüdischen Gemeinden Polens. Nach dem Angriff der deutschen Wehrmacht auf Polen wurde Krakau am 6. September 1939 besetzt. Im Wawel, der ehemaligen Residenz polnischer Könige, richtete Hans Frank seinen Sitz als Generalgouverneur ein: In diesem Amt war er Statthalter der besetzten, aber nicht ins Deutsche Reich eingegliederten Teile Polens. Im Mai 1940 wurde ungefähr die Hälfte der etwa 65.000 jüdischen Einwohner Krakaus in umliegende Orte vertrieben. Alle Verbliebenen mussten im März 1941 in ein Ghetto umziehen.
Ende 1942 mussten auf dem Gelände von zwei jüdischen Friedhöfen im Stadtteil Plaszow jüdische Arbeiter aus dem Ghetto ein Zwangsarbeitslager errichten. Mitte Februar 1943 waren in Plaszow etwa 2.000 Juden inhaftiert. Nach der Auflösung des Krakauer Ghettos stieg die Zahl der Juden im Lager bis Herbst 1943 auf 12.000 an. Im Juli 1943 richtete die SS dort ein »Arbeitserziehungslager« für nichtjüdische Polen ein. Alle Häftlinge, Männer und Frauen, mussten Schwerstarbeit leisten. Die jüdischen Häftlinge arbeiteten anfangs in Krakauer Betrieben außerhalb des Lagers, wohin sie von der SS täglich zu Fuß getrieben wurden. Ab September 1943 mussten sie innerhalb des Lagers und seinen Außenlagern arbeiten. Die Häftlinge waren unterernährt und lebten in ständiger Bedrohung vor willkürlichen Morden und Misshandlungen durch die SS. Lagerkommandant Amon Göth ließ auch kleinste Vergehen bestrafen und ermordete eigenhändig etwa 500 Häftlinge.
Im Januar 1944 wurde Plaszow ein selbstständiges Konzentrationslager. Ab Spätsommer 1944, als die Rote Armee immer näher heranrückte, wurden die etwa 24.000 Häftlinge in andere Konzentrationslager verschleppt. Ab August 1944 mussten die letzten Häftlinge die Baracken zum Teil abbauen, die Leichen aus den Massengräbern ausgraben und verbrennen. Am 14. Januar 1945 wurden die letzten Häftlinge vom KZ Plaszow, etwa 625 Männer und Frauen, zu Fuß nach Auschwitz getrieben.
Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 1944, Ansicht des Lagers Plaszow, Yad Vashem
Krakau-Plaszow, 1944, Ansicht des Lagers Plaszow, Yad Vashem

Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 2009, Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus, Wilfried Mählmann
Krakau-Plaszow, 2009, Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus, Wilfried Mählmann
Die meisten Häftlinge in Plaszow waren Krakauer Juden, da die SS das Lager anfangs als Zwangsarbeitslager für Juden aus dem dortigen Ghetto nutzte. Im Laufe des Jahres 1943 wurden hier auch Häftlinge aus anderen Ghettos des Distrikts Krakau inhaftiert. Durch Abtransporte in andere Lager und Einlieferungen nach Plaszow variierte die Zahl der Häftlinge stark. Ende Juli 1944 hatte das Lager über 20.000 Insassen.
Im Mai 1944 selektierten SS-Offiziere etwa 900 kranke, schwache und ältere Häftlinge und deportierten sie ins Vernichtungslager Auschwitz-Birkenau, das nur etwa 60 km entfernt lag. Zu dieser Zeit wurden auch Kinder nach Auschwitz in den Tod geschickt. Im Juni 1944 traf aus Auschwitz ein Transport mit 5.000 bis 6.000 ungarischen Jüdinnen in Plaszow ein, die Anfang August nach Auschwitz zurückgeschickt wurden.
Seit Juli 1943 gab es einen eigenen Lagerbereich für nichtjüdische Polen. Polen, die wegen kleineren Vergehen festgenommen wurden, waren für eine begrenzte Zeit inhaftiert, während die politischen Gefangenen meist unbefristete Haftstrafen bekamen. Im März 1944 waren etwa 1.400 Polen im Lager.
Im Lager gab es drei Hinrichtungsstätten. In zweien wurden regelmäßig polnische Häftlinge der Gestapo, zumeist Widerstandskämpfer, hingerichtet.
In Plaszow wurden insgesamt etwa 3.000 Menschen ermordet, etwa 1.700 Polen und 1.300 Juden.
Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 1942, Häftlinge bei der Zwangsarbeit, Yad Vashem
Krakau-Plaszow, 1942, Häftlinge bei der Zwangsarbeit, Yad Vashem

Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 2008, Kreuz am Hügel »Hujowa Górka«, einer der Hinrichtungsstätten des Lagers, Lars K. Jensen
Krakau-Plaszow, 2008, Kreuz am Hügel »Hujowa Górka«, einer der Hinrichtungsstätten des Lagers, Lars K. Jensen
1964 wurde ein sieben Meter hohes »Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus in Krakau« (polnisch: Pomnik Ofiar Faszyzmu w Krakowie) nach einem Entwurf von Witold Cęckiewicz enthüllt. Es ist allgemein den Opfern des Faschismus gewidmet. Vom ehemaligen Lager sind fast keine Spuren erhalten. Am Standort des ehemaligen Lagereingangs informieren seit 2003 Tafeln über die Geschichte des Lagers. Daneben gibt es noch zwei Gedenktafeln. Eine davon erinnert seit 2000 an die ungarischen Jüdinnen, die von Plaszow aus nach Auschwitz deportiert und dort ermordet wurden. Die andere Tafel stiftete die Jüdische Gemeinde in Krakau und ist allen jüdischen Opfern des Lagers Plaszow gewidmet. An einer der ehemaligen Hinrichtungsstätten, Hujowa Górka, steht ein Kreuz mit aufgesetztem Stacheldraht.
Die Geschichte des Lagers wird auch in der Dauerausstellung zur Geschichte Krakaus während des Zweiten Weltkrieges in dem Museum »Schindlers Fabrik« (polnisch: Fabryka Schindlera) thematisiert. Das Museum eröffnete 2008 im ehemaligen Verwaltungsgebäude der Emailwarenfabrik Oskar Schindlers. Hier arbeiteten Häftlinge aus Plaszow, Schindler konnte etwa 1.200 von ihnen vor dem Transport in die Vernichtungslager retten. Diese Geschichte ist durch Steven Spielbergs Spielfilm »Schindlers Liste« aus dem Jahr 1993 weltweit bekannt geworden.
Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 2008, Gedenkstein für die jüdischen Opfer des Lagers, Lars K. Jensen
Krakau-Plaszow, 2008, Gedenkstein für die jüdischen Opfer des Lagers, Lars K. Jensen

Bild:Krakau-Plaszow, 2008, Rückseite des Denkmals für die Opfer des Faschismus, Lars K. Jensen
Krakau-Plaszow, 2008, Rückseite des Denkmals für die Opfer des Faschismus, Lars K. Jensen
Name
Pomnik Ofiar Obozu Koncentracyjnego w Płaszowie
Adresse
ul. Henryka Kamieńskiego
30-542 Kraków
Öffnungszeiten
Das Denkmal ist jederzeit zugänglich.